Click to See Complete Forum and Search --> : Is Telepathy.com affiliated with Network Solutions


Volitics
09-23-2005, 10:06 PM
Hello.

There is a group called Telepathy, Inc. They say they are a communications company. They are the registrant of a domain name that is my family's surname.

It looks like that they have just bought up a lot of domain names and are trying to wrestle money from people. They have an email form on their web site that invites people to submit an offer for any of the domain names that they have registered.

Here's the email form: http://www.telepathy.com/inquire.php

I filled out the form and sent the email. On the other side of the email form it says that they would not consider any offer for less than $15,000 and that some domain names they would not sell for any less than $45,000.

I offered them $25 on the email form.

The Telepathy web site does not name any of the owners of their so-called business. The registration address for Telepathy is a PO Box in Washington, DC. I did a reverse lookup on anywho.com and it gave their street address as 1937 14 St NW, Washington, DC

Does anyone know anything about this Telepathy group?

I know that Network Solutions has an office in Herndon, VA which is just outside of Washington, DC. I was wondering if Telepathy might be owned by Network Solutions.

Of course, I wouldn't want to see anyone's freedom regarding property ownership infringed upon but something does not seem right about buying up domain names like that.

piersk
09-24-2005, 10:26 AM
Isn't that cybersquatting? If it was a big company like google or microsoft, then they'd have sued them for millions (or at least got WIPO involved)

I doubt they would be linked to someone like NetSol. They probably buy the domains via netsol, but I doubt that they have any sort of business agreement. Try contacting NetSol and see what they say.

Volitics
09-24-2005, 11:52 AM
It is cybersquatting or it's close anyway. That's the first time that I've heard that term.

Since it's my family surname I don't have a trademark on it. I found a ton of information on Google about cybersquatting.

Thanks for the information.